Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 Longevity of tumbling media? >

Longevity of tumbling media?

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Longevity of tumbling media?

Old 03-06-2007, 11:32 AM

Default Longevity of tumbling media?

I picked up a 25lb bag of crushed walnut from Petsmart today. How long do you all reuse your crushed corncob or crushed walnut media? How many shells can you clean on a single bowlful of tumbling media? Right now I have about 500 shells of .50 cal that I want to tumble (vibrate). I have a Lyman tumbler/vibrator and I have been using the Lyman corncob media that I bought with it.

Kindest Regards,

-Will in Maryland
Old 03-06-2007, 02:02 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Longevity of tumbling media?

I have been using the same batch of Lyman crushed walnut for over three years and surprisingly, it still works well. I do probably 100 cases per week.
Old 03-06-2007, 02:17 PM
bigcountry

I am lucky for corncob media to got thru 10 different cleanings (running 50 pieces of 44mag brass 10 different times).Especially if you use brass cleaner in it. It will get to the point where you have to vibrate for 4 hours to get clean. Time to toss.

Old 03-07-2007, 03:15 AM

Bigcountry, that may end up being the route for me. I just got done tumbling 20 shell casingsof .50 last night for three hours (in corn cob), and they look almost clean.Some of the shells that I bulk purchased have some sort of a black lacquer smeared on them, the tumbler isn't talking it off, neither is the Nevr Dull polish unless you scrub at it for a long time. Looks like steel wool is destined for these particular shells.

Kindest Regards,

-Will in Maryland
Old 03-07-2007, 05:37 AM