Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Powder Longevity??? >

Powder Longevity???

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Powder Longevity???

Old 10-14-2006, 03:51 PM

Default Powder Longevity???

Hello guys and gals!!

Been a ML hunter all of my life (over 20 years experience). Started hunting with a TC Hawken at age 11, moved up to a Rem 700ML and have graduated to a TC Encore. I realize some here don't like this gun, but my performs wonderfully and I love it. Back to the topic.

I consider myself more then knowledgeable about ML issue. I am not a pro that tinkers with his rifle and loads on a weekly basis, but there is little about ML theory and practice that I am at least familiar with. Christmas 05 I received a ML book, one of those novice primers that really would not help me out much. So I sat it aside and never read a page until just a few weeks ago. As I thought, not much in there that was new to me. Then I came across a statement on powder (loose and pellets) that I had never heard. The author claims that once the seal of a powder keg or box of pellets has been broken and exposed to air, the powder should be used within 4-6 months. Powder used after this time frame significantly begins to degrade and does not provide the performance of freah powder.

Now as I have said, I am not a weekly shooter and dont chronograph my shooting to have eveidence to support or refute the author. In fact, it is hard for me to shoot a whole can of powder or box of pelletsduringhunting season. Therefore I often have powder left over to get me through next season. The powder is stored in a humidity controlled atmosphere, but I seems as though every year I need to always adjust my rifle's scope. This makes me think that maybe the author is correct.