Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Outdoor Gear > Optics
 Nikon Buckmaster = Leup VxI or VXII?? >

Nikon Buckmaster = Leup VxI or VXII??

Community
Optics Quality optics are a must-have for any serious hunter. Discuss them here.

Nikon Buckmaster = Leup VxI or VXII??

Old 09-25-2007, 08:55 AM
Fork Horn

Default Nikon Buckmaster = Leup VxI or VXII??

what does a nikon buckmaster and monarch compare to in the Leupold world. VX I & VXII?

A buddy is considering the following scopes for a .300 WSM.

Buckmaster 3x9-40 $199
Monarch Primos 3x9x40 $299.

Is the Monarch worth the extra $100? Also, what Leupold models compare to these Nikons??
Old 09-25-2007, 10:45 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Nikon Buckmaster = Leup VxI or VXII??

I can tell you I have a Buckmaster Nikon 3x9 on a Ruger .270 and it is my favorite scope I have. Not the most expensive, but for some reason when I look thru it I feel it is my best one. Has held its zero for over a 100 shots in all kind of weather. I am thinking of a H&R Handi-Rifle in S&W .500 one of these days for Indiana deer hunting and it will have a Nikon on it.
Old 09-25-2007, 01:27 PM
bigcountry

I have a few monarchs, and will say they have clarity equal or better than conqeust or my loopys Vari-XIII. Only thing I don't like is you lose site picture so easy with all nikon products. I think its where they place thier erector lenses. I never was a fan of the buckmasters. I put them little better than VX1's

Old 09-25-2007, 02:32 PM
Typical Buck

You know, one of the best scopes I ever had was an old fixed power 4x weaver from the 1970's. My grandpa gave it to me for Christmas one year. I put that thing on every gun I had. I had it stole out of my truck in the mid 80's it was on a 10/22 at the time. You mention losing the sight pic with the Nikons, something that helped me when I 40 was shooting with both eyes open even with a scope. Took a little time to get used to, but works great in heavy woods.
Old 09-25-2007, 04:17 PM
bigcountry