Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 getting into muzzleloading >

getting into muzzleloading

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

getting into muzzleloading

Old 07-23-2004, 08:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default getting into muzzleloading

hey im just getting into muzzleloading and was wondering what the best gun to start out would be? thanks Jake
Old 07-23-2004, 09:17 PM

Default RE: getting into muzzleloading

The one that you like. Decide what you want to spend on one (don't forget that you'll need a scope and mounts, and accesories like a powder measure and powder flask ect.) and then look at guns in that price range and decide what you like. I read an article on .45cal vs .50 cal and if I was getting a new gun, I'd go with .45cal. Find a friend that already uses a muzzleloader and get them to help you find what you want, and get you started. good luck
Old 07-23-2004, 10:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have helped 3 of my friends get started in muzzleloading and the first thing we did was to go to Bass pro or a similar store and check out whats available, one of the first things noticably different is the price, CVA makes a very good gun that is on the cheaper side ~ 160-190$ then you have the guns such as the Remington 700, Ruger 77-50 etc that run in the $400 and up price range, all are good guns to kill deer with, its just what feels right in your hands and wallet. Also go to your local gunshops that you TRUST and ask their opinions, (everybodies got different ones!!) All 3 of my friends settled on the CVA's (Firebolt mags I think) and all shoot considerably well for deer hunting (about 3 inch groups at 100 yards which is plenty to kill a deer). Just remember muzzleloaders need a little more care than smokeless powder rifles as far as diligently cleaning them and such.
Old 07-24-2004, 05:35 AM
Typical Buck