Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 MUZZLELOADING IN PA? >

MUZZLELOADING IN PA?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

MUZZLELOADING IN PA?

Old 08-26-2004, 12:10 PM

Default MUZZLELOADING IN PA?

hey their, i am new to this wonderful sport of muzzleloading and really love the idea of going out this year, here in pa the season is a week in mid-october for just anterless, i am curious what fellow pennsylvanians think about the chances of ever allowing to shoot bucks also at this time of year, or better yet allowing our in-lines at the second season after christmas, so we have more time afield, just a thought but curios what others think.
Old 08-26-2004, 12:21 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: MUZZLELOADING IN PA?

alot of us flinters want a chance for a buck in october......i think it would be GREAT........but second season wont change anytime soon if us flinters have any say so....we talked about it on another site...and noone wanted it but inline hunters.....its our only traditional season....leave it be........but with all the changes and HR i wouldnt be too surprised if they let inlines hunt the late season....i just hope im out of the state by then....i dont want to see it happen.....the late seasons my favorite deer season......
Old 08-26-2004, 12:29 PM
Nontypical Buck

To answer your questions, NO and NO.
The early season was put in to accomplish early doe reduction in line with the goals of AR. The chance that they will allow Buck harvest then is slim and none. As far as allowing modern muzzleloading in late season, and I asked this question of the headquarters in Harrisburg, is NO. They told me that there is no suggestion of this in the forseeable future and the fella told me that if I want to use a modern ML then I should use it in the regular rifle season, as flintlock STAYS flintlock, PERIOD! I then went out and bought a flintlock, Hahaha..