Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Question about gun cleaning >

Question about gun cleaning

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Question about gun cleaning

Old 02-26-2004, 07:44 PM
Typical Buck

Default Question about gun cleaning

It's time to clean my rifle but i am a little new to cleaning rifles. I am having a hard time shoving the wire brush tip down the barrel. Just seems to me that it will damage it.. Maybe i am being to cautious with my new rifle but just need assurance that is doesn't hurt anything.

1. I put a patch down the barrel lightly coated in solvent
2. run the brush thru a few times
3. run a patch lightly oiled down the barrel..
4. lightly oil the rest of the chamber and components, ie barrel exterior, etc..

is this correct ???
Old 02-26-2004, 08:08 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Question about gun cleaning

If it is a bolt action then clean it from the receiver end and use a bore guide if you really want to be careful.

Run a soaked patch with your solvent down the barrel and let it sit for a couple of minutes.

Run your brush down the barrel a few times.

Run some dry patches down the barrel to get the gunk out.

Repeat if necessary

After you get all the fowling out then run a lightly oiled patch down the barrel.

Run a dry patch or two to remove the oil before you shoot it again.
Old 02-27-2004, 08:21 AM
Nontypical Buck

You're basically on the right track. Here's what I do:

1. Using a brass jag, run two or three patches down the bore soaked in a mixture of Shooters Choice and Kroil (75% SC to 25% Kroil). Let this sit for 15 to 30 minutes.
2. Run another wet patch through the bore paying close attention to how much blue is on this patch. If there's an appreciable amount of blue on the patch that means there's excess copper in the barrel. We'll talk about his later.