Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Custom rifles and Wildcats >

Custom rifles and Wildcats

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Custom rifles and Wildcats

Old 06-01-2003, 04:43 PM

Default Custom rifles and Wildcats

If you are intrested in Custom Rifles, Wildcat cartridges, or big bore guns, (over .30 cal) lets talk.
Old 06-01-2003, 05:55 PM

Default RE: Custom rifles and Wildcats

I am a custom rifle builder living in St.Albans Maine. I am, some say, alittle set in my ways, pig headed, you know, that stuff. However, I love talking guns and shareing information. If you have gunsmithing questions I will help if I can. If Wildcats are your bag, from the 4500 F.P.S. .224 Plumber to the .585 Nyati I will be glad to help so lets talk!!!!!!

Your Friend
Judson
Old 06-01-2003, 10:08 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have an off the wall question for you. I have a Marlin 336 in 30-30 Win just gathering dust in the corner. I absolutely detest the 30-30 Win. Other than reaming the chamber to 30-30 AI, do I have any other options for conversions? What I would really like is to rebarrel it to 375 Win but I am not sure if it would hold up to the 52000 cup that the cartridge produces. Any ideas?
Old 06-02-2003, 05:09 PM

The 336 is a very good lever gun and for a few years it was offered in the .375 Win chambering. They never really never caught on in this cartridge but they are out there. Your Idea is feasable and would require a new barrel and some carrier work but that would be about it.

Your Friend
Jud
Old 06-02-2003, 08:32 PM
Nontypical Buck