Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 choke tube question >

choke tube question

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

choke tube question

Old 04-15-2008, 05:25 AM
  #1  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
tschaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,796
Default choke tube question

I'm getting ready for turkey and just wasn't too happy after patterning with 3" #4s last weekend; I've decided to buy a turkey choke. Heres the problem, my shotgun is kinda uncommon and I can't find any turkey chokes that list my gun as compatible, its a Mossberg 3000.

I called Mossberg and they gave me a number to call, the fellow I spoke to there says my gun is really a S&W but that any choke tube that will work for the Mossberg 500 will work in my gun. Off I go to Basspro with one of my chokes in hand, I find a choke listed for the 500 and hold it up beside my choke only to find the threads don't really match; that is the threads appear to be the same, but the small unthreaded portion at the very beginning is longer on the choke for the 500.

I look around and find a choke thats an identical configuration to my multi-choke, to the naked eye they are the same.

So, do I put all my faith in the advice of some guy that is supposed to know what hes talking about, or go with common sense and try the one that (to the naked eye) is identical to what came with my gun ??????????????????
tschaef is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 09:45 AM
  #2  
Nontypical Buck
 
skybuster20ga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: oxford county, maine
Posts: 2,206
Default RE: choke tube question

briley boesnt hae anything?
skybuster20ga is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 06:25 PM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
tschaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,796
Default RE: choke tube question

Is Briley a store or a brand?
I'm up in Canada, I've never heard of Briley. I'll Google for a website.
tschaef is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 10:31 PM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location:
Posts: 1,157
Default RE: choke tube question

get a micrometer, call colonial choke tubes (look em up on the web). they will walk you thru the process of determining what choke you need and thier prices are very good.


absolutely GREAT people to deal with. i had the same problem with my beretta trap gun, problem solved chokes at my door in less than a week.
moose1915 is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 09:15 AM
  #5  
Nontypical Buck
 
RugerM77.270's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Southeast Alabama
Posts: 1,625
Default RE: choke tube question

Buy both and see which one workd in your gun. Then return the one that didn't work.
RugerM77.270 is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 01:07 PM
  #6  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Warren County NJ USA
Posts: 3,892
Default RE: choke tube question

buy a turkey shotgun
BOWHUNTERCOP is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Bow_hunter15
Waterfowl Hunting
3
02-19-2009 06:10 AM
mobow
Turkey Hunting
3
03-04-2007 08:59 PM
jepcho
Turkey Hunting
16
03-31-2005 09:31 AM
leffler
Waterfowl Hunting
4
11-21-2004 03:32 PM
Knockemstiff
Turkey Hunting
4
01-15-2002 03:38 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Quick Reply: choke tube question


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.