Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
trophy bonded bear claws >

trophy bonded bear claws

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

trophy bonded bear claws

Old 12-24-2002, 02:33 AM

Default trophy bonded bear claws

do they open up fairly good on deer?

i was thinking of next year to use them,if they shoot good in my BAR MK II in 30-06sprg that should be in by january.
i heard that since they are a better " controlled " round wiht very little exposed lead tip that it will not deform that much.

Old 12-24-2002, 05:20 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: trophy bonded bear claws

Hey quilly, let me tell you about my experience with them. I shoot the bearclaws in all three of my deer rifles, a 7 mm mag (140 grn), 30-06 (165 grn), and .300 win mag. (150 grn). I have been using them now for 5 years, and I absolutely love them for my purposes! Here in north central Louisiana where I hunt we have a lot of very thick cutovers. I have several stands with shooting lanes, and one hop off the lane and it's so thick a rabbit would have a hard time! Wich is why I am always aiming for a little high straight through the shoulder shot, because I don't want to have to track one if I can help it, but if one does run, I definitely want an exit wound to make tracking easier. I used to shoot the barnes x, a great bullet, and you're gauranteed an exit wound. Only drawback was that the exit was no bigger than entry, I guess because of the solid copper. But with the bearclaws, they always give me an exit wound, and they have just enough lead in them to where the exit hole is pretty decent. I have averaged 3 rifle deer per year since I started using them and I haven't recovered a bullet yet, and they've performed just as well up close as they do out to 250 yds (the farthest shot I've had to make so far in the last 5 years). To answer your question "do they open up fairly good" I'd say thet most of the time the exit wound is