Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
 Question about broadhead accuracy ... >

Question about broadhead accuracy ...

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

Question about broadhead accuracy ...

Old 09-10-2007, 03:58 PM
Spike

Default Question about broadhead accuracy ...

I am new to shooting a crossbow and have learned a lot on this forum.

I have my Horton Legand 175 with Excal Lumiscope sighted in at 20 yards and 30 yards with field tips. Many of you mention that your broadheads fly like your field tips. Are you saying they group as well as field tips or they hit the same point of impact as field tips?

I ask this question because my Muzzy MX-3 broadheads group well but 3 inches lower than field tips at 30 yards. Any replies will be helpful.
Old 09-10-2007, 05:25 PM
Dnk
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Question about broadhead accuracy ...

Don't worry about it if all of your broadheads have the same POI when the scope is adjusted.
Old 09-10-2007, 06:00 PM
Typical Buck

Both.. Sometimes you get lucky and your combination of arrow/fletching/broadhead will hit the same POI as your field tip, other times they can group well but not with the same POI.. Same thing only different.
I am assuming that when you read that a broadhead is flying the same as a field point you are thinking that if you shoot a field point at the "X" then screw on a broadhead it would hit the same "X", life would be much easier if that were the case, but unfortunately it isn't. If your arrow and broadhead are a good combination you should be consistent, and "consistent" is often worded as "same"..