Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Broadhead Accuracy >

Broadhead Accuracy

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Broadhead Accuracy

Old 08-27-2006, 08:33 PM
Spike

Default Broadhead Accuracy

Hi all! I'm new to bow hunting and have a question about broadheads. I'm shooting 100 grain field tips and thought I was dialed in pretty well. I was grouping within 3-4 inches around and in the center bullseye at 50 and 60 yds. At 20 to 40 yards, I was in or on the edge of the bullseye consistently.

Today I put on three broadheads and shot them for the first time. Wow! At 40 yds, I was a good 6-8 inches low and left. At 30 yds it wasn't as bad, but nowhere near the accuracy I had with field tips! I'm shooting 100 grain Tight Point Shuttle T-Lock.

Is it normal for the broadheads to be this much different than field tips?
Old 08-27-2006, 08:34 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Broadhead Accuracy

bow out of tune by chance?
Old 08-27-2006, 08:36 PM

It seems to be a pretty common problem. Your bow needs to be tuned and it should shoot broadheads the same as your field points. Download the Easton Tuning Guide. http://www.eastonarchery.com/downloads.asp

Good luck!
Old 08-27-2006, 08:56 PM

You certainly have a tuning issue of some kind. Make certain the bow is 100% in tune. If it is, you should get your BHs to hit as your target points. BUT, if they are grouping well, you could just move your sights and be spot on. Only problem is you will be well of with your target tips....
Old 08-27-2006, 09:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

Sometimes despite your best efforts you can't get the BH and FP to have the same point of impact, Whats important is how they group. My BH group very well at 20-30yds but don't have the same POI as the FP. A buddy of mine has 2 bows,one has the same POI the other doesn't. As long as your BH group consistently you'll be OK.