Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Accuracy question >

Accuracy question

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Accuracy question

Old 04-08-2009, 11:55 AM
Typical Buck

Default Accuracy question

I just started shooting again after many years off and I am not that impressed with my accuracy after a little practice. I am shooting about 5'' groups at about 25 yards. I have a front sight and a peep sight, but I am using old arrows and no release. I have a release and new arrows on the way from cabelas. I am just wondering if it is possible that my bow is not going to be very accurate because it is old. It is a Fred Bear compound bow that is at least 15 years old; I acquired it used about 10 years ago.

Anyway, I guess we will find out when my stuff gets delivered. Just looking for a little input in the meantime. I paid for two day shipping and then Cabelas didn't ship for three days.[:@]
Old 04-08-2009, 12:03 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Accuracy question

You probably would get improved accuracy out of the new bows just because of howsuperior they are from an engineering standpoint. However, I would think your expectations are a little high for having not shot in years and shooting fingers. Your release just can't be that good after taking so long off. Just my $0.02.
Old 04-08-2009, 12:06 PM
Nontypical Buck

Congrats on coming back to bowhunting!

A good rule of thumb is 1" of group for each 10 yards of distance for most hunting. In other words, you should be able to obtain 2" groups at 20 yards even with an older set-up (with practice).

The release will improve your accuracy a lot. If you have a local bow shop, it would be wise to let them inspect your bow. They can make sure the string/cables are in good shape and perhaps give you a hand with setting up your rest/sight.
Old 04-08-2009, 03:34 PM
Giant Nontypical