Community
Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

Using BBQ as Smoker

Old 07-02-2007, 10:31 AM

Default Using BBQ as Smoker

Last night I somone told me that you can use your Barbeque as a smoker, by turning one side of the grill on, with low(ish) heat and wrapping your wood chips in tin foil, poke holes in it and placing your meat on the other side of the gril away from the heat. How do you guys think this would work and Im totally new to smoking food can you tell me some easy meats to smoke (sorry I'm not big on fish)

Thanks
Old 07-02-2007, 02:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Using BBQ as Smoker

That way will work in a pinch. It's more like baking though. Nothing beats a real smoker though. I bought my Char-Grillerat Loweswith the side fire box for less than $150. To smoke food you really need to have the fire as far away from the food as possible while still being able to "cook" the food.There's really not any meat that's easier to smoke than another. They all take roughly the same amount of time to smoke. They're not hard by any means though. It's all about time and temperature. One thing that you'll defnintely need will be a digital temperature/thermomator fork. These really work well. I only use the temperature gauge on the lid of the smoker as a rough estimate. If you have any more questions feel free to ask! Simp
Old 07-02-2007, 03:03 PM
Super Moderator

I have my own smoker as well. As a matter of fack I have 2. One electric and one that uses wood and charcoal. I believe you can smoke food on a gas grill. Im not sure thats recommended. Smokers arent really that expensive. But smoking sure gives it a great flavor. Ive done quite a few meats, turkey, chicken, hams, T Bones, Deer roasts etc...
Old 07-04-2007, 04:53 AM
Dominant Buck