Community
Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

New Smoker

Old 07-05-2009, 04:02 PM
Spike

Default New Smoker

Let me start by saying I'm new at this game, but am very interested in learning.[8D]A couple years ago I received a Luhr Jehnsen "Little Cheif" front load smoker as a Christmas gift. Not top of the line, but like I said it was a gift. I've used iton several occasions with mediocre results. It has a pan for chips that sets directly on a burner. My ? is..... Do you put water in the pan with the chips or perhaps soak the chips before putting them on the burner? I see some of you guys talking about adding water for moisture, but my directions say nothing about adding water anywhere, anytime. In fact, they state that low, dry heat is needed for smokin'. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. On account of following directions I've never soaked or added water.
Old 07-05-2009, 05:15 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: New Smoker

By the sound of your post this is an electric smoker..

I have no expereince with those..I use the charcoal smoker..I soak my chips all night in water..to keep them from burning up so fast and to make them smoke better..

I saw an electric smoker at Sams last week ..It had a water pan as well..The water pan appears to be used to keep the meat moist.

It also had a trap door to dump chips on the burner..I'd think the chips should have been soaked in water to last longer and smoke more..

I've had a hard time getting my smoker hot enough to cook..I like it at 225 ..so I cut my own chips..bigger chunks..Fact last week was so hot I had to partially close off the vents..to keep the temp down.[8D]The water will need refilled about every 1 and 1/2 hours
Old 07-06-2009, 04:19 AM
Typical Buck