Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Right hand or Left Hand? Starting out question >

Right hand or Left Hand? Starting out question

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Right hand or Left Hand? Starting out question

Old 01-19-2005, 10:23 AM

Default Right hand or Left Hand? Starting out question

I came across this site because I am in the market for a
compound bow for target shooting. I am new to the hobby and have a
question. I know my draw length and all, but the question I have is "What
determines a left hand from a right hand bow?" I am right handed, but my
left eye is dominant. Since my left eye is dominant, do I choose a left
handed bow?

Your help is greatly appreciated.
Old 01-19-2005, 10:29 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Right hand or Left Hand? Starting out question

The main concern here is which way do you feel most comfortable .Go with which feel's right . If your left eye is Dominant and you can shoot the bow with no problem's and feel comfortable,then go that way .

nubo
Old 01-19-2005, 10:59 AM

You will definitely get a mixed response on this one. Personally, since you are just starting out I'd recommend you go with your dominant eye. I shot right-handed for a while even though I'm left-eye dominant. I didn't really improve much until I switched to a lefty bow - much better now.
Old 01-19-2005, 11:18 AM
Nontypical Buck

Personally I would say that if you know that you are left eye dominant then if it isn't real uncomfortable I would start off left handed right off the bat. But if you are to uncomfortable shooting this way by all means shoot right handed. My brother is right handed and left eye dominant and is a tremdous shot.
Old 01-19-2005, 11:27 AM
Super Moderator

If you are just starting out, then I'd definitely recommend going with a left handed bow.
I think you'll be better off in the long run.