Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 What Lbs. to string new bow? >

What Lbs. to string new bow?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

What Lbs. to string new bow?

Old 01-03-2005, 04:53 PM
Fork Horn

Default What Lbs. to string new bow?

I'm new to archery and recently purchased a Reflex Excursion 60#/70# which is currently set at 60# (29" draw length). After a couple trips to the range and multiple sore muscles later I figure that I would probably benefit by lowering the draw weight to work on my form. I want to know if I can set set up at a draw weight lower than 60#.
Old 01-03-2005, 04:58 PM

Default RE: What Lbs. to string new bow?

I believe you have to purchase new parts to lower your draw length. Try only shooting a few shots each trip or changing your draw length. Since your draw weight is too much, I bet your draw length is too long. Having too long of a draw length can affect the draw weight. You will be pulling too much weight back to far.
Old 01-03-2005, 05:00 PM
Nontypical Buck

he can lower the draw weight by just goin to an archery shop and asking them to do so but it sould say on one of your risers the range in lbs.your bow is.
Old 01-03-2005, 05:08 PM
Nontypical Buck

i dont think there is anyway for u to lower the draw weight without purchasing new limbs. but, if u shorten the draw length an inch it just might lower the pundage. it really depends on the bow. my rage is always at the poundage u set it at when changing draw lengths but my old fred bear would change the poundage when you shortened the draw length.

there also may be cams with more let off for your bow. i would call your proshop and ask them. this would still have the same draw weight but would make it easier to hold back.
Old 01-03-2005, 05:11 PM

He said it was a 60 to 70 lb bow in his post, and its set at 60 which is the lower limit.