Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Shooting down--low or high? >

Shooting down--low or high?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Shooting down--low or high?

Old 10-26-2004, 11:16 PM
Spike

Default Shooting down--low or high?

OK guys I'm not new to bow hunting although I am new to the compound bow. I just got my first one and that letoff is a wonderful thing. I've always heard bowhunters say that shooting down from a stand is much different. I've been setting a target out from 15 to 25 yards and my feet are about 15 feet above it. I'm shooting at about the same accuracy from that height as I am on ground level, and surprisingly not bad. Do you experience shooting high or low from a stand? Maybe I'm not high enough for it to make a difference.
Old 10-26-2004, 11:33 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Shooting down--low or high?

Physically it is measurable. But if you are shooting a modern, fast bow......and your distance is as close as you say -- 15-20 yards-- I would guess you'll notice less than a 1/2 in. to 1 inch difference in your POI. Perhaps you'll notice no difference at all.
Old 10-27-2004, 05:31 AM
Nontypical Buck

in general, whether shooting up or down the tendancy is to shoot a bit high.
can't give you the physics, but that is what I've noticed and seem to have read, been told, etc.
and the distance you should be measuring is the horizontal distance from the base of the tree to the target (unless you are really high up the horizontal and angular distances are close enough to not bother much)
Old 10-27-2004, 06:46 AM
Fork Horn