Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Feathers?

Old 09-20-2004, 08:22 PM
Typical Buck

Default Feathers?

I have been using feathers for the past 2 years for a few reasons. The owner of my local bow shop is sold on them and believes that you can't go wrong with them. He says they are way more forgiving than plastic veins. He says they will correct themselves in flight after hitting a small twig in 3 ft, opposed to 15 ft. for plastic veins. He also states how much more durable they are for practicing b/c they won't tear up as easily. There are several more reasons he has given me in the past, but I really can't think of them off hand. The reason for this post is b/c I am thinking about going back to veins. It is hard to keep the feathers dry in wet weather and I also think that the deer may hear the feathers whistling as they are in flight. Since shooting feathers I have not killed a deer in 3 attempts. One shot was my fault, but the other two were headed dead nuts and the deer jumped my string, one from 20 yds. and the other at 35 yds. I have always thought my bow was plenty quiet and I never missed a deer the 3 years prior to shooting feathers with the same bow. Just wanting to know your opinion and what you guys think.
Old 09-20-2004, 08:33 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Feathers?

I shoot feathers and mine are a bit noisey! But you can't hear the comming at you, only from behind. Wierd but true. Plastic vanes flap and are worse!
Bohning makes a powder that you put on your feathers that make them repell water! Works well! Its called feather-dri. Odorless! Good luck
Old 09-20-2004, 08:38 PM
Boone & Crockett