Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 lesson learned the hard way >

lesson learned the hard way

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

lesson learned the hard way

Old 09-21-2004, 08:31 PM

Default lesson learned the hard way

This is my first year bowhunting and i had not put much thought into scent elimination until last weekend(the season opener). I hunt in NE Wi and i am in an Earn-a-buck zone. That means i have to shoot a doe before i can tag a buck. I was sitting out on my new stand over looking a food plot i planted and 2 nice does walked in around 7:00 with their heads up looking around. They must have smelled me because they only walked in about 5 yards before they stopped and looked around. Then they bolted. So today i went to the local sporting goods store and bought some Scent Killer and also some doe urine to get their attention away from me. Never thought their noses could be so keen, but oh well, i guess i learned my lesson. This ever happened to anyone?
Old 09-21-2004, 08:54 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: lesson learned the hard way

Don't ever, I mean ever under estimate their nose......EVER.

Scent suits, scent eliminators, scent cover ups and if you don't have the wind right, your busted....don't doubt it.....Lesson learned.[&:]
Old 09-21-2004, 08:57 PM
Giant Nontypical

yeah.......and take a shower too.
Not with the pretty smelling Old Spice body wash either.....get some Scent Killer soaps and deoderants as well.
Keep the hunting clothes scent free........your body as scent free as possible and use the wind to your advantage.
Old 09-22-2004, 12:59 AM
Nontypical Buck