Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Learned a hard lesson today... >

Learned a hard lesson today...

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Learned a hard lesson today...

Old 10-11-2008, 06:58 PM
Spike

Default Learned a hard lesson today...

Patience...patience...patience and the Deer are better at it than you are.

(keep in mind this is my first time hunting...ever)I get into my ground blind this morning around 5:45 am and it's still pretty dark out there. I walk down a trail that is 40 yards from my father's tree stand and his timed feeder. I sit in my blind and pass the time. around 7:00 when the sun is up but not high enough to really see anything a motorcycle passes through the neighbor we hunt behind and within 30 seconds i see a brown blur dart 20 yards behind my blind. I spin around to identify and I couldn't. It was dark brown and I thought it was a deer but it was too small. I thought maybe a coyote and then a fox. It passes by me and goes 20 yards east which opens up into a huge field. Within about 10 minutes this blur comes back into the woods 30 yards south of my blind in the thick of young trees. Finally it steps out into sunlight and I can identify it as a fawn. Possibly a year old doe as I don't see horns nor do I see spots. I get all excited but she won't slow down. She just prances about playing? Finally she comes across the trail and eases into a bed (that I didn't know was there) about 20 yards west of my blind. I immediately buck fever sets in. Hands shaking, heart racing, knees bouncing. I keep telling myself in my head to calm down, think about the shot. 45 minutes pass and the deer is still there bedded, ears just a flapping and not getting up. I thought I could "spook" it up. So I make a soft grunt. Then a loud grunt. Then a whistle. Nothing. She's not moving. I get out of my blind easily to see if I co