Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 # of P&Y in bow range? >

# of P&Y in bow range?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

# of P&Y in bow range?

Old 02-12-2004, 03:54 PM

Default # of P&Y in bow range?

How many P&Y's have you had within bow range?

I've been bowhunting for about 12 years, over that time span I've only had 2 P&Y bucks within bow range, the first one, was a 18 inch 10 pt, but unfortunately he brought a budy with him, and the smaller buck busted me getting into position.

The second was a very wide and tall 8pt, that I shot and never recovered, after a week long search.

How about you guys? How long have you bowhunted and how many P&Y's have you had in range?
Old 02-12-2004, 04:05 PM

Default RE: # of P&Y in bow range?

I've bow hunted off & on for 15 years & was lucky enough to take a P&Y black bear @ 9 yds.
Old 02-12-2004, 04:10 PM

I have only been bowhunting for 2 years now. But over the years i have had quite a few in while i was hunting elk, or just scouting even.....Seems they come into range when they know i'm not bowhunting. But as soon as i am hunting deer they stay away.....
Old 02-12-2004, 04:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

I usually have at least a dozen every year. Literally, whitetail deer that is. But B&C maybe 1-2 depending on the luck. I missed my booner this year, about 22yards, arrow deflected off a tree-limb and bounced off his back. Hopefully i'll have a chance at him next year, and his non-typical points will get even bigger!!
Old 02-12-2004, 04:53 PM

Only one whitetail back in 2001 ......but I got him ! And being from MS .....you can appreciate that (I killed him in Alabama when I lived there) !!

Passed on a borderline mulie this year.......I was after a hoss !!

Yeah DC....not a lot of down that way....or up here for that matter !!

Here's mine.....he's the one on the right !!