Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Peep sight installation Question(s) >

Peep sight installation Question(s)

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Peep sight installation Question(s)

Old 08-06-2003, 08:38 AM

Default Peep sight installation Question(s)

Is it that hard to install a peep sight on your bow?

I recently had my bow retuned major overhaul Dynamic column loaded, laser tuned, new string the whole 9 yards. I have never used a peep before but I have videotaped my form and the one serious flaw I have is anchoring my head/sighting it. I have tried my head more turned my head more straight to the target. I think I need the peep to anchor how I look at my pins and want to try the peep. Or should I let my local shop put it on and not deal with the hassle of doing it myself. Other possible problems?

I shoot about 50 arrows once a week and groups are 3-4 inches at 20 yards but I really would rather see them much tighter before the season is here. If I make the change I really need to do it now to get into form and a comfort level rather than blow the opportunity come the season. I want to successfully harvest deer not miss or wound them and 3-4 inches is way too much margin for error for me.
Old 08-06-2003, 09:03 AM

Default RE: Peep sight installation Question(s)

Unless you have a press, take it to a pro shop. A peep will cut your groups in half, and they are not difficult to get used to.
Old 08-06-2003, 10:37 AM
Boone & Crockett

Peeps are sweet, have the pro shop install it, and make sure you get one large enough to easily see through in low light conditions.
Old 08-06-2003, 11:41 AM

As others have said, a peep sight will dramatically impact your accuracy. Have the pro shop do it for you and with a little bit of shooting you will be used to it.
Old 08-06-2003, 07:14 PM