Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Deer hunting question >

Deer hunting question

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Deer hunting question

Old 10-13-2008, 07:39 PM
Fork Horn

Default Deer hunting question

Hey guys I'm new to this forum and had a few questions about some tactics to get some big bucks within shooting distance in the pre-rut. This is my first year bowhunting for deer and I have been out a good 12 times since bowhunting season opened up in michigan. I have tried a rattlebag, and everytime i use it the deer just go the other way, i also have been using a primos buck grunt call when i dont see deer and even when i do see a buck, and they will look up if they hear it and then ignore it. I also have been using some code blue doe estrous and havent had any luck. I havent had one chance at a nice buck yet this year, i have seen a few that i would like a shot at but i cant do anything to get them to come within shooting range. I was just looking for some tips for the pre-rut to maybe draw in some nice bucks that are on the property, which include a nice 10-point and about a 22 inch spread 8-point with close to 10 inch tines. I just cant seem to do anything to get any bucks in, and have only seen about 5 different bucks, of which only one was a shooter but did not come in close enough, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 10-13-2008, 08:37 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Deer hunting question

A couple of things if I may. I would suggest that it is a little early for the doe in estrus lure. Personally I would suggest getting a couple of books written by Greg Miller and Charles Alsheimer...those are the two I would say have some great tactics and background on whitetails.

OK, now for some pointers....DISCLOSURE: I AM BY NO MEANS AN EXPERT