Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 How do you guys practice? >

How do you guys practice?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How do you guys practice?

Old 03-19-2003, 01:22 PM

Default How do you guys practice?

I have been shooting bows for 17 years now. I practice 4 to 5 days a week. I shoot about 30 arrows a session. I have always shot from known distances of 20 ,30, 40,and 50 yards.

I am looking to really improve my quality of praactice and ulitimately my shooting ability ( hunting and 3D ). I feel like I am missing out on some techniques that are out there.

Any help or suggestions?
Old 03-19-2003, 02:43 PM

Default RE: How do you guys practice?

I got out of the backyard and joined my local club. They have a NFAA course and a 3D area as well. 3D also has a couple of treestands set up too.
Not sure if that is what you were looking for.
Old 03-19-2003, 03:06 PM
Giant Nontypical

I pretty much do the backyard thing at known distances. But once in a while, I throw on the Judo points and grab a paper sack. Crumple up the paper sack and toss it around the yard and shoot at it with the judos. Helps a lot for the unknown distances and you can' b be off by much without a deffinate miss.
Old 03-19-2003, 03:10 PM
Fork Horn

I pretty much practice the same as you do. 4-5 days. 30 arrows.

When it gets close to hunting season I practice everynight, but it is 1 arrow. It forces me to concentrate on that 1 arrow. Hit or Miss, 1 arrow is all I get.
Old 03-19-2003, 03:36 PM
Giant Nontypical

I would also suggest 3-d but that isn' t the only thing you can do.

Start shooting from different spots in your yard,such as from an angle at 26-27 yards instead of 30.This will give you an opportunity to learn to gap pins.