Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Eye dominance?

Old 12-18-2006, 10:21 AM

Default Eye dominance?

How many people shoot their bow based strictly on which eye is their dominant eye. I am left eye dominant but I shoot my bow and my rifles right handed. I have never had any problems, but have heard it is poor form to close one eye. So how many people find out which is their dominant eye and then buy a bow to make sure they are using their dominant eye? I have never known it was that big of a deal, but some people claim it is.
Old 12-18-2006, 10:28 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Eye dominance?

I'm left eye dominant, and simply shoot right hand rifles left handed (I've gotten pretty effecient at working the bolt this way). My bow on the other hand, and don't ask me why, I shoot right handed and with my right eye. When I was 14 and was shopping for my first bow, I started shooting the bows at the proshop left handed with my left eye because I had been shooting rifles that way for years. Well I couldn't hit anything, and while I was confused as the shop owner, he had me try a right hand bow and use my right eye, and I was dead on. So talk about screwed up...I'm technically left eye dominant...shoot rifles left handed, shoot my bows right handed[&:]
Old 12-18-2006, 10:32 AM
Nontypical Buck

I was always taught to shoot with your dominant eye.But this year i met a hell of a shot with a bow who wore a patch on his left (dom) eye.I told him that if one patch made him a better shot,Immagine if he wore a patch on BOTH EYES
Old 12-18-2006, 10:33 AM
Fork Horn