Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Eye Dominance

Old 02-02-2003, 03:39 PM
OBH

Default Eye Dominance

I'm trying to teach my four year old to shoot a bow. He uses his right hand for most of the things that he does so he is shooting a right hand bow. Although he is still some what erratic, I have noticed a definite tendency to group the arrows to the left of the bullseye. After testing him, I found out he is left eye dominant. What should I do? Do I need to buy him a left hand bow? Should I have hime close his left eye? Are there any other solutions?

Thanks
Old 02-02-2003, 07:26 PM

Default RE: Eye Dominance

I do everything right-handed, even rifle hunting. I figured out I was left-eye dominant when I started shooting clays. I took up archery hunting 3 years ago at age 30. Since I had never shot a bow I really didn't have any bad habits to break other than getting used to shooting lefty. It wasn't that hard and I know I'm a better shot left handed. I know 4-year olds can be difficult but I'd see about switching him. Try not to make a big deal about it. Try to sell it that he'll be a better shot and being able to do things with both hands is a good thing.
Old 02-02-2003, 09:07 PM
Boone & Crockett

OBH, first, welcome to the forums. You won't get better advice anywhere on the web then the guys right here.

A good shooting coach will tell you to teach the boy to shoot to his dominant eye. He's young and you have the opportunity to teach him the right way to shoot rather than have him struggle with it later in life. You'll be doing him a favor having him shoot to his dominant eye because one should shoot with both eyes open tho many great shooters don't and some great shooters shoot opposite of eye dominant. BUT with the opportunity to teach/mold your boy into the best shooter he can be, I'd opt to teach him to his eye dominance.