Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Thoughts on a beginner bow ? >

Thoughts on a beginner bow ?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Thoughts on a beginner bow ?

Old 10-23-2006, 05:57 AM

Default Thoughts on a beginner bow ?

I am a beginner when it comes to bow hunting.I've come across a few of intrests but this one is so far the best one.specially for the price.Wondering if anyone can take a look at it double check and let me know what they think about it.If you don't beleive its worth it than please tell me.i know the brand is good,but not sure of the actual product itself.Im in need of one and i don't have the largest wallet as of now.thanks for the help.only going for white tail .. and maybe some target shooting/practice during off season.

http://www.huntersfriend.com/Deerhunter/deerhunterpkg.htm
Old 10-23-2006, 07:40 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Thoughts on a beginner bow ?

I've put a lot of these kits together at the store and will be honest with you. The bow is very slow by today's standards. The type of limb on this bow is prone to more than it's share of failures. The rest, sight and other accessories are about as cheap as you can get---all plastic.

It may be a good starter bow, but that's about it. Personally I think you'd be better off looking for a decent used outfit of higher quality.

PSE doesn make some good bows, but not until you get into the $500 and up range---for a bare bow. That's my opinion, based on years of experience.
Old 10-23-2006, 07:41 AM

JHJames20,

I took a look at the set up in the link you provided. I will give you an honest assessment from my perspective.

The PSE line are good quality bows. I have owned two. I currently shoot one, a Firestorm lite. The bow you ae looking at, as a package is 350.00. That is very inexpensive for a bow package.
---------------------------------