Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 I think he went nocturnal......now what? >

I think he went nocturnal......now what?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

I think he went nocturnal......now what?

Old 10-22-2006, 04:59 AM

Default I think he went nocturnal......now what?

I have been hunting the same area for a couple years....last year I had an older buck that was tearing up my area with scrapes and rubs....this year, there was nothing, until this week...I now see that he is still around...found my first rubs and scrapes....so I decided to hunt it this week....nothing, but when I come back the next day, there would be fresh sign......so my question is, where should I look to find him in the day?
Old 10-22-2006, 05:35 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: I think he went nocturnal......now what?

If he is an older buck, and therefore somewhat smart, you have to be careful. Obvious I know. I hate when deer go nocturnal, especially when you hunt all day and can see new rubs that they put in overnight.

Anyway, I think you are left with 2 choices:
1) wait for the peak of the rut, when he will be active during the day.
2) Somehow, set up stands closer to where he beds down. Then somehow get in those stands without being detected, and hunt them at first light and dusk.

Just my rambling,

Old 10-22-2006, 05:55 AM