Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 how often do bucks check there scrapes/rubs? >

how often do bucks check there scrapes/rubs?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

how often do bucks check there scrapes/rubs?

Old 10-18-2006, 09:12 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default how often do bucks check there scrapes/rubs?

ive found about 15 rubs all in a row going about a mile long, along with fresh scrapes, i put my stand in between these rubs the last 2 days, but dident see him, how often do most bucks usally check there rubs/scrapes?
Old 10-18-2006, 09:22 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: how often do bucks check there scrapes/rubs?

I've been hunting for over 20 years. I've watched many deer do rubs, a few do scrapes but none ever one check them. I look at them as good area of deer sign. That's my 2 cents worth. I've never shot anything bigger then a 130 class, I have no heads on the wall and one full piebald mount. I have seen well over 2 dozen monsters in the field just none have offered a shot I could take.
Old 10-18-2006, 09:34 PM
Nontypical Buck

ive heard people say they have killed bucks checking there rubs, so dont they come back to look at them every now and then?
Old 10-18-2006, 09:46 PM
Dominant Buck

I tell you, I hunt in over populated areas for a reason, I'm lazy and get bored. I've hunted areas that have 100+ rubs. I couldn't tell you if the buck rubbing in front of me made one of the previous rubs or is acting like a dog and being the last to do it.