Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

feathers...

Old 07-08-2006, 07:00 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default feathers...

im getting ready here real soon to order my first bow. im stuck on feathers on my arrows. i think crested arrows with feathers look awesome. my first set will be pretty plain, but i plain to make or buy a cresting machine and fletch my own arrows with some nice feathers. when i order my bow and arrows and all though, they give me a choice of 3 or 4 inch feathers. what would be best? im new to the archery game. im looking for accuracy and something thatll shoot good, speed is a bonus. i should be shooting fast enough with either lenght. frim my readings i THINK the longer 4 inch feather would be the better choice to stabilize the arrow faster but could be wrong. the bow will be a reflex highlander with a 28inch draw and 65lb pull for now. shooting Gold Tip arrows and a 100gr head if any of that will make a diffrence. just want to make the right choice on them. i know i should be going to a pro shop but im ordering from hunters friend.