Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Shoot-through blind screens >

Shoot-through blind screens

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Shoot-through blind screens

Old 06-11-2006, 07:18 PM
  #1  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 4
Default Shoot-through blind screens

I hunt a terrific property with some good climbing treestand spots and I've taken a good 8-point in there.
There are also some nice funnels in thick spots and open areas where there are no trees. I am considering hunting from a blind in those treeless positions during the bowseason and many posters on this site have said the blinds can be very productive. I know after coming in there that I need to "brush it in," and I appreciate that very much.
My question is this.
Are these shoot-through mesh screens accurate to arrow flight? Will I be accurate shooting through them?
I have my eye on the Lightning set stand from Cabelas. Does the mesh influence arrow flight?
Thanks for the advice. I am new here and would like to become a regular poster.



3oaks is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 07:37 PM
  #2  
Nontypical Buck
 
Howler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Elizabeth Colo. USA
Posts: 4,413
Default RE: Shoot-through blind screens

Fixed bladed broadheads will not be affected, where as some mech. heads could be affected. The best advise I could give, is to practice shooting through the mesh of YOUR ground blind with YOUR chosen set-up. One: to find out if YOUR arrows are affected and two: this will give you the confidence you'll need to make the shot when it counts!
Howler is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 07:47 PM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
 
Rhody Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,606
Default RE: Shoot-through blind screens

welcome to the forum and no it should not effect your shot when using fixed blade heads
Rhody Hunter is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 08:02 PM
  #4  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 4
Default RE: Shoot-through blind screens

I do shoot a fixed blade Thunderhead 125 and I would practice with set-up beforehand.
I haven't heard much about the success rate with blinds, but sure should use some ground concealment on this piece of property.
To have the protection of the blind, with reasonable accuracy, would open up more opportunity.
Other examples of succes with these shoot throughs?
Anybody out there use this Lightning set-up blind from Cabelas?

I look forward to regular visits to this bowhunting honeyhole.
Thanks for any and all feedback.
3oaks is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 08:06 PM
  #5  
 
PurcellSportingGoods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 131
Default RE: Shoot-through blind screens

ORIGINAL: Howler

Fixed bladed broadheads will not be affected, where as some mech. heads could be affected. The best advise I could give, is to practice shooting through the mesh of YOUR ground blind with YOUR chosen set-up. One: to find out if YOUR arrows are affected and two: this will give you the confidence you'll need to make the shot when it counts!
welcome to the forums....this is what I would do...
PurcellSportingGoods is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 08:44 PM
  #6  
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: IOWA/25' UP
Posts: 7,145
Default RE: Shoot-through blind screens

The double bull boys have lots of experience shooting through netting in their blinds. I have two of them but I have never tried shooting through the netting. Like said, stick with fixed blades and try one out in your blind.
hardcorehunter is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 09:38 PM
  #7  
 
VA HEAD HUNTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 1,177
Default RE: Shoot-through blind screens

i cant stand shooting through them just because it screws me up psychologically. its weird i know it should be fine but it makes me think too much when i dont really have the time to be thinking about it when its shootin time. plus i much rather hunt from stands anyways
VA HEAD HUNTER is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 05:58 AM
  #8  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 4
Default RE: Shoot-through blind screens

I would prefer to hunt from treestands as well. They are unbeatable as ambush points.

But when you have funnels that are like cattle crossings, you just have to find a way to set up there.
3oaks is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 06:27 AM
  #9  
 
gregholland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gig\'em Aggies!
Posts: 896
Default RE: Shoot-through blind screens

ORIGINAL: Howler

Fixed bladed broadheads will not be affected, where as some mech. heads could be affected. The best advise I could give, is to practice shooting through the mesh of YOUR ground blind with YOUR chosen set-up. One: to find out if YOUR arrows are affected and two: this will give you the confidence you'll need to make the shot when it counts!

Very good post!!!!

PRACTICE, PRACTICE!!!

Sit far enough back in the blind that once the arrow is shot, that the arrow is completly off your rest by the time it hits the netting too. Not many blinds are big enough to allow such space for this shot, but I do know one one company that makes the best blind in the world though.
gregholland is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.