Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
 Newbie here and already frustrated!!! >

Newbie here and already frustrated!!!

Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Newbie here and already frustrated!!!

Old 01-12-2004, 11:01 PM

Default Newbie here and already frustrated!!!

Hey guys,

I am newly interested in the sport (although I did some target shooting with a recurve as a kid) and I am trying to find a bow and setup that is not going to cost me an arm and a leg (I don't want to invest a lot of $$$ in something I'm not sure I'll pursue). Yet, I want a bow that will last me as I become more experienced and will not need to replaced after a year or two. I am interested in hunting but I also want to get involved in target and 3D leagues.
I went to my local archery pro shops and found out that I have a 31.5'' draw, which, in addition to my price range (around $400), really narrows down my selection. In the end, I was only able to shoot the 2004 Hoyt Ultramag and Ultrasport. They seemed nice, but I have nothing to compare too. They said they would have to special order, and this is not only more expensive but I would not be able to test the bow before buying.
Then I hit the web and researched the hell out of compound bows. I was only able to narrow down the accessories (scope, rest, etc.) I think I'll want, but I still don't know about the bow.
Now, I think the best thing to do is buy someones used bow that they want to sell and is older than the Ultramag/Ultrasport models but maybe a higher end bow for a cheaper price. So, I've been browsing Ebay and the like, and I've found 2003 and 2002 Hoyt models as well as other brands. The selection of bows that adjust to 31+ draws is small, but I still don't know if those are good bows or if their specs are valid (see P.S. below).