Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 New to muzzleloading, need help >

New to muzzleloading, need help

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

New to muzzleloading, need help

Old 12-25-2003, 10:21 AM

Default New to muzzleloading, need help

Hi guys, first off hope everyone had a merry christmas i sure did, my wonderful wife bought me a new muzzleloader for christmas, i am new to this so i really could yuse some advice, please, i wanted this to hunt in our early season here in Pa plus i am going to New York next year and really wanted to have a in-line for their season. Now here is what i got and any advice or opinions would be greatly appreciated, My wife bought me a knight wolverine with 26 inch barrel and 209 ignition with blued barrel and left hand which i am i really like this gun, but don't know what bullets or powder will work the best with this gun, a veteran die-hard bowhunter but kinda illiterate to black powder, but i am really excited and eager to learn, please help, also i would like opinions on this rifle too. thank you .
Rick
Old 12-25-2003, 10:59 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: New to muzzleloading, need help

Knight bullets & accessories work best in "overbore"Knight rifles. Barnes Bullets has a close affiliation with Knight... that's another good option followed 3rd by Hornady. You can also buy bulk Hornady bullets like XTP mags in 240 & 300 mag... just include a 50-pk of Knight 45/50 cal sabots in your purchase. I'm assuming you bought a 50-cal rifle... you failed to state which one.