Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 .50 Cal Buffalo Ball ET for.. >

.50 Cal Buffalo Ball ET for..

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

.50 Cal Buffalo Ball ET for..

Old 12-20-2003, 06:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default .50 Cal Buffalo Ball ET for..

Elk in front of 80 grs of RS Pyrodex out of my CVA Bobcat? I am getting 2" groups at 50 yds from a kneeling position and the bullet is falling about 3" at 65 yds when sighted in at 50. Would this be a good combo for elk to no more than 65 yds or so. I am planning to apply for a cow muzzleloader tag again next year, and I have a bonus point so I should draw with no problem. Has anybody used this on elk or deer before? How well did it work? I have been shooting this gun since the summer of 2001 when I bought it and have put about 200 different combinations of bullets and powder weights through it and this is the best combo that I have found. I will be chronographing the load in the near future to see how it does. For some reason my gun likes 80 grs. of powder and nothing else. I can put either the round ball or the Buffalo ball on top of this much powder and hit the same spot every time. Any thoughts? Thanks guys!
Old 12-20-2003, 07:01 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: .50 Cal Buffalo Ball ET for..

I am sure at close range that would do the job. Round balls have done the job. I looked in the CVA book and it said that a 300 grain CVA Buckslayer bullet with 90 grains of powder has 984 FP's of energy at 100 yards which some say is more then enough to take an elk. I am not sure what grain a ballet is. I would guess somewhere in the 240 range to 300 grain range. So out to 65 yards you should be fine.

I have shot deer with ballet out of a .54 caliber and 80 grains of Pyrodex and it knocked them flat. I then changed over to a conical bullet of 300 grains only because I cast my own.