Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Seating Barnes expander after 1st shot >

Seating Barnes expander after 1st shot

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Seating Barnes expander after 1st shot

Old 02-07-2011, 06:21 PM
Fork Horn

Default Seating Barnes expander after 1st shot

I am new to MLers and just got my first one a few weeks ago, an Optima . I tried the 300grain Barnes Expander and can get 3 shots within a few inches of each other with open sights at fifty yards(100 grains 777 pellets).
My question is by looking at the ramrod I can tell that every shot after the first one is seating about a full inch higher than the first shot. I have pressed with everything I got but I cant get them down any further. I have been running a wet patch between shots, maybe I need to run a wet and dry patch? Is it possible I am getting that much gunk from the 777 that the bullet cant go down any further? It doesnt seem to be effecting ignition or accuracy.Any thoughts from black powder vets?
Old 02-07-2011, 06:25 PM
Giant Nontypical

Yep...Stop shooting when the bullet isn't firmly down on the powder...You will either blow the gun up or put a bulge in the barrel...

I don't like 777 because of the crud ring, prefer Goex or Pyrodex...You may have to go with 2 damp patches or even a brush between shots if you wan to stay with 777...You need to clean the barrel enough that the bullet will smoothly slide down all the way...You might also try a Crush Rib sabot as well...
Old 02-07-2011, 06:34 PM
Giant Nontypical

First make sure your barrel is completely free of any oils before shooting. 90% Rubbing Alcohol works ok for this. Then pop a primer or 2.

Load and Shoot.

1 patch flipped once with 50/50 cheap Windex and rubbing alcohol mix (lightly damp) between shots. Follow up with a dry patch flipped once. Pop a primer if you got it too wet and it got in the breach plug.