Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Paper patching bullets, Pictures! LONG >

Paper patching bullets, Pictures! LONG

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Paper patching bullets, Pictures! LONG

Old 04-30-2008, 06:12 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Paper patching bullets, Pictures! LONG

Here is some very poor quality pictures and a description of how to wrap a bullet; sorry I am not a pro at writing.
Before I got to this point, I poured probably 200 bullets to get 75 perfect ones. I grade them for looks and weight. Any bullets with visible flaws are melted again and every good bullet that I keep is +or - .5 grains of the target weight. This gives me a constant product; compare that to TC maxiballs or maxihunters. Some guys wrap their bullets with wet paper. Most of them have undersized bullets, and are getting a bullet that fits perfectly after wrapping and are not sizing after they wrap the paper on the bullet. I would like to get a mould that would throw a bullet .446 and about 380 to 400 grains. RCBS has a mould like that but I have WAY too many moulds right now. I need to sell a couple I don’t use first.
Back to wrapping the bullets.
A lot of guys use a bullet wrapping board. I just use my fingers. In this first picture you can see the size and the shape of the paper, the paper adds about .08” to the diameter of the bullet before sizing.

In these picture you can see the way I am starting the bullet into the wrap.

As I roll the bullet on I keep the paper tight as I can. When the paper rolls all the way on the two ends should meet and not overlap.

When I get the ends to meet I start to twist the tail.

With a hollow base bullet you can then push the tail into the base of the bullet. This picture is quite blurry sorry.