Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Range Rod needed............... >

Range Rod needed...............

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Range Rod needed...............

Old 06-07-2007, 08:09 PM
  #1  
Typical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Pioneer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 683
Default Range Rod needed...............

Can anyone recommend a good range rod long enough for a TC Hawken and GM barrel length? I broke a shotgun rod in the .50's barrel this afternoon and was lucky to get it out.Not much for ML stuff in my area .Am having trouble locating a maxi-ball mold for a .50 on E-Bay.Too popular a size I guess.Thanx Harold
Pioneer2 is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:19 PM
  #2  
Boone & Crockett
 
sabotloader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,633
Default RE: Range Rod needed...............

Pioneer2

I use these Tipton rods, I have three of them and they are great.. expemsive but great. They are made from a carbon fiber. I get the 40 cal + 36 inches long.








[link=http://www.battenfeldtechnologies.com/tipton-deluxe-carbon-fiber-cleaning-rods.html]

http://www.battenfeldtechnologies.com/654574.html

sabotloader is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:20 PM
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 491
Default RE: Range Rod needed...............

Knight and TC both make special range rods. Im not sure what length you need but id look at the TC. They are a heck of a nice rod and the knob on the end is easy on your hand.
700bdl870exp is offline  
Old 06-07-2007, 08:20 PM
  #4  
Dominant Buck
 
cayugad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 21,193
Default RE: Range Rod needed...............

Cain's sells a "super rod" that you can get in all sizes. Some of the range rods out there, while excellent, are expensive. What I do is get a non breakable and then make sure it has female ends on both ends. Then I can put a T handle on one end. Also I likea range rod at least 4" longer then the longest rifle it will be used on. You can get super rods to fit the rifle with your choice of ends...

http://www.cainsoutdoor.com/cart/asp/catalog_index.asp

As for the maxiball mold, you can get them new through Lyman Molds. They are expensive, alsobecause the handles are not included, but are a good quality mold. Something else you might consider is trying some of the more cost effective conicals out there on the market. BullShop Conicals sells nice conical. Sabotloader seems to have good luck with them.
cayugad is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 05:45 AM
  #5  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,246
Default RE: Range Rod needed...............

ORIGINAL: Pioneer2

Can anyone recommend a good range rod long enough for a TC Hawken and GM barrel length? I broke a shotgun rod in the .50's barrel this afternoon and was lucky to get it out.Not much for ML stuff in my area .Am having trouble locating a maxi-ball mold for a .50 on E-Bay.Too popular a size I guess.Thanx Harold
Yes. See the "Ram Rods Section" on the LHS on this web site:

http://rmcsports.com/catalog.htm

They have a 48" with a T handle that looks goodfor a range rod. They are very strong ram rods and range rods. I have two of RMC sport Ram Rods (not range rods) the ones called Rugged rods, they are excellent, threaded on both ends and light and strong. The are very good folks to deal with also, I buy a lot of supplies from them. I buy patches for $9 for 500 from them at the Sportsman's show in Harrisburgevery year.
Chap



gleason.chapman is offline  
Old 06-08-2007, 07:49 AM
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 426
Default RE: Range Rod needed...............

I purchased the super rod from Cain's as well. My only suggested might be to order the rod smaller than your bore. The rod itself is pretty thick and the jag at one end is too big for my .50. Should I ever need to order another I will order one for a .45. Great rod though.
oldrookie is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 12:23 PM
  #7  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,828
Default RE: Range Rod needed...............

For a spare range rod I just took a $5.00 Outers shotgun cleaning rod, cut off the one threaded end, chucked it in my lathe,machined the end flat,drilled, and tapped it 10/32. I bought it at Wal Mart for $5.00 and it breaks down into 3 pieces.
sjsfire is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
HEAD0001
Black Powder
6
01-10-2008 09:47 PM
Pydpiper
Technical
9
03-10-2007 06:14 PM
uckayak2_mn
Black Powder
20
01-10-2007 09:05 PM
David/Mo
West
2
03-18-2005 06:06 AM
Falzone
Midwest
2
04-25-2004 06:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Quick Reply: Range Rod needed...............


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.