Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Range results for new TC Omega >

Range results for new TC Omega

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Range results for new TC Omega

Old 04-03-2006, 07:44 AM
Fork Horn

Default Range results for new TC Omega

Well, I made it to the range on Saturday to shoot my week old Omega. My intentions were two-fold. First, I just wanted to shoot it and have some fun because I had never shot an inline before. Second, I wanted to start working on a good elk load for this fall. I was using 777 with 410 gr Great Plains conicals, and iron sights. I also cleaned with two no. 13 patches and one dry patch in between each shot. The only thing I varied is the charge size (and target distance). I started shooting at 30yds, with a 90 gr charge. I shot 4 times and had about a 4.5 in grouping. Next, I shot at 30yds with a 100 gr charge. I shot 4 rounds and this time had a 2 in grouping. I then shot 2 more 100 gr shots at the 100yd target. After that I went up to 110 grains and shot 2 more at the 100yd target. All four of those shots were on the paper with the farthest two being 13 in apart. I then shot another 4 with the 110 gr charge at 30 yds, keeping a 3.5 inch grouping. I am not an expert shot, but I was very happy with these results. I would have hit the vitals of any elk out to 100yds. The targets I were shooting at are 14w X 18h, so the sights pretty much take up the whole target at 100yds. Very difficult to put it on the same spot every time. Also, most of my shots were slightly high and slightly right, this being due to my "flinch" (more about this later).