Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Help! Sabots are shredding... What is causing this? >

Help! Sabots are shredding... What is causing this?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Help! Sabots are shredding... What is causing this?

Old 01-16-2006, 09:22 AM
Fork Horn

Default Help! Sabots are shredding... What is causing this?

First of all, it's a new gun (.45 Optima) and I'm shooting the 200 gn XTPs over 2 ea.50 gn pyro pellets.

The sabots I'm recovering downrange are losing petals in-flight. 50 yd groups are about 3"... at 100 they are all over. Powerbelts not much better, accuracy-wise.

Rough barrel? Too much juice? I've used soft-scrub to help lapp out the barrel with the last two cleanings.

Wet patch after every shot. This is my first inline but I've been shooting sidelocks for many years. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Best BP forum I've yet found!

'Popper
Old 01-16-2006, 09:33 AM

Default RE: Help! Sabots are shredding... What is causing this?

I have never has issues with sabots shredding with only two 50 gr. pellets. Powerbelts usually shoot pretty well with this charge too. So I would suspect you have a rough barrel as well. Might use JB paste or USP Bore paste with the Scotch Bright pad patch, as Cayugad described in detail fairly recently. Also, shooting a bunch of lead conicals out of a gun has a lapping/smoothing effect on a barrel. That probably wouldn't hurt either.
Old 01-16-2006, 09:55 AM
Boone & Crockett

BrushPopper

I gotta tell you when i read your title, I was more than a bit worried that this might reall be a big problem...

I tried to look back and find the article on sabots that explains this it is on the the hpmuzzleloading site someplace but since i can not locate the article - you could call MMP Sabots and talk to Del personally, he is really good about helping.