Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

bear hunting questions???

Old 09-15-2003, 06:51 PM

Default bear hunting questions???

I am going bear hunting next weekend in the Adirondack Mountains in New York. You can' t hunt over bait and I am not really sure how to hunt bears. This is my first bear hunting experience, I will be using a bow and need to get them within 40 yards!! Does anyone have and hints or tips for hunting bears??? I have heard that you can call them in with a predator call.....anyone ever tried that???? I would really appreciate any help.
Old 09-16-2003, 04:54 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: bear hunting questions???

I am not an expert by any means having killed only one Bear and that by sheer accident. The Bear walked directly under my climbing stand and was too good an opportunity to pass.
I have noticed several things here in North Ga. which may give you a few clues as to what to look for, the terrain is similar to what you will be hunting and the situation may be as well.
Look for food sources they are using this time of year, especially standing corn fields if there are any in the area, they will use this almost any time of day but especiall along about dusky dark. Concentrations of White Oak Acorns are another important source of food at this time, look for evidence of Bears using an area with a lot of White Oaks, trails, tracks & scats.
Even though " baiting" per se is also illegal here in Ga. you may still use a variety of attractants, several are available that are supposed to be very good. Bears have a first class sniffer so anything that smells like food will attract them from a long distance. Keep that in mind when it comes to scent control as well.