Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Groups > Young Hunters
What makes a great hunter? >

What makes a great hunter?

Community
Young Hunters Specifically for the kids, this is a great place to share experiences and meet other young hunters.

What makes a great hunter?

Old 09-20-2009, 10:12 PM
Spike

Default What makes a great hunter?

Hello. I am merely here to gather opinions and information based on this question. I ask this question because I am not experienced in hunting in any way except for what I see on TV.

I am working on a school project researching different hobbies/occupations where I will gather people's opinions and thoughts on different subjects. This is in no way to create a guideline as to what makes a great hunter.

I am asking here in this forum because 1) This was number 1 on the Google search list, so it is popular and 2) after reading the comments and thoughts of other posts, I've decided that this is a great place to hear opinions without great threat of Internet trolling. I've decided to place this question in this board because it was the most general topic I thought I found in the forum and because I'm green to hunting itself.

So, now to the question itself: What makes a great hunter?
Does it involve skill, technique, instinct?
Does it matter by region, religion, or politics?
Is there a sort of ranking system among professional hunters?
How are hunting valued in your life?
Does equipment matter?

I hope that I can receive great info on this topic, and will be sure to credit this board in due time.
Old 09-21-2009, 05:15 AM
Super Moderator

So, now to the question itself: What makes a great hunter? Can be anything from the location and property you are hunting to your work ethic.
Does it involve skill, technique, instinct? Yes. All of the above. Skill in the fact that you have to practice shooting and calling and being patient and quiet.