HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - What makes a great hunter?
View Single Post
Old 09-21-2009, 08:31 PM
Siman08/OH
Giant Nontypical

Originally Posted by tropicon
Hello. I am merely here to gather opinions and information based on this question. I ask this question because I am not experienced in hunting in any way except for what I see on TV.

I am working on a school project researching different hobbies/occupations where I will gather people's opinions and thoughts on different subjects. This is in no way to create a guideline as to what makes a great hunter.

I am asking here in this forum because 1) This was number 1 on the Google search list, so it is popular and 2) after reading the comments and thoughts of other posts, I've decided that this is a great place to hear opinions without great threat of Internet trolling. I've decided to place this question in this board because it was the most general topic I thought I found in the forum and because I'm green to hunting itself.

So, now to the question itself: What makes a great hunter?
Does it involve skill, technique, instinct?
Does it matter by region, religion, or politics?
Is there a sort of ranking system among professional hunters?
How are hunting valued in your life?
Does equipment matter?

I hope that I can receive great info on this topic, and will be sure to credit this board in due time.
What makes a great hunter? Alot of things. Time. Skill. Location. Effort. Luck.

Does it involve skill, technique, instinct? All 3, without a doubt.

Does it matter by region, religion, or politics? Region, Yes. Fact, more P&Y deer are killed in Ohio then Florida. Religion, at first glance, no. Maybe someone with more understanding of lesser known religions will find an answer. Politics, yes. Earn a buck. Antler restrictions. Season dates, times, zones. All come in to play.