Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Help with next yrs plots!?!

Old 12-21-2009, 06:02 PM
Fork Horn

Default Help with next yrs plots!?!

Im planning to plant 2 food plots. They will be about 500yds apart. The total property is 90 acres. The one plot will be approx 2.5 acres the other can be anywhere from 2-10acres. I want something that will draw them early in the season and late in the season. It opens sept 15th and ends jan 31st. Im new to food plots and need all advice i can get. I know ill have to get soil test and add recommended lime and fertalizer. I just dont know what and when to plant or how to plant. A detailed start to finish blueprint would be nice. Lol. Ive got access to a nice tractor, mower and disc. Thanks in advance!
Old 12-21-2009, 11:40 PM
Nontypical Buck

I'm from alot futher south than you are, North Arkansas, but for fall and late season I would go with a cereal grain like winter rye or buck forage oats mixed with rape turnips and some clover in there. It sounds like your acreage is gonna be plenty big enough to handle quite a bit of deer traffic on it. There are a ton of different seeds out there to plant these days, but I just mix my own its much cheaper that way. I do buy the buck forage oats because they are cold tolerant, I have planted seed oats and bobs oats but they turned yellow after a hard freeze and deer quit eating them. Like you said make sure you get that soil test done.
Old 12-23-2009, 04:25 PM
Typical Buck

Bypasskiller--With possibly 12+ acres to work with, your options are many. But in order to recommend what seed selections are feasible, we really need to know what your soil test reveals.