Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

food plot

Old 03-26-2007, 05:06 PM

Default food plot

this is my first time ever putting a food plot on my land i have no idea wat to do were i live its thick but i have two fields and my grandfather is a farmer so i think he would know wat to do can anyone help me with a food plot that will grow fast with minimal effort but will still attract deer/turkeys
Old 03-26-2007, 05:26 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: food plot

I think the most important thing to do is get a soil sample first. Then you know what your lime/fertilizer requirements are. Once you have your location set, you can decide if you want a summer plot or fall plot. There are lots of seed options, but you need to know if you want a 'hunting' plot of a 'feeding' plot. Once you narrow that down, you can prepare your site. There is lots of very helpful members on this site.
Old 03-26-2007, 06:07 PM
Fork Horn

Once your grand father tills and plants the field go around the edge JUST the very edge of the field and spread some seed and see what happens where you are going to hunt that is and I MEAN as soon as the seeds goin that day or hour min etc put in seed the no till and try it out... i hope this helps you.

Old 03-27-2007, 09:56 AM