Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Getting Started on Hunting

Old 12-22-2004, 01:53 PM

Default Getting Started on Hunting

Hi everybody,
My names' mike and im new to hunting, but I've been once with one of my good friends and I had a great time even though we didnt see anything. I'm 13 years old and I'm asking for a compound bow I tried out at a bow shop in Brampton, Ontario. It's got an adjustable draw weight from 30-40 pounds, and I was just wondering if anyone who's experienced at hunting has any good advice or good websites to go to. I've been to Bowhunting.com, and Deerhunting.com, and they're both very good sites, but I dont think I've learned everything I can from them. If I get my bow I'll start Turkey hunting in the Spring and then move on to Whitetail deer in the fall. If anyone had any advice that they would like to share it would be greatly apprecited. Thanks !!!
Old 12-22-2004, 03:18 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Getting Started on Hunting

When I started bow hunting I spent a lot of time at my local archery lanes. I found that many bowhunters like to help a newbie and never had a shortage of pointers, plus it was a good way to meet new friends, talk shop, trade stories, etc. I wouldn't try to do everything they suggested just worked on pieces and then gradually it all came together after lots of practice.
Old 12-22-2004, 03:20 PM
Giant Nontypical