Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Worst and best hunt of my life. >

Worst and best hunt of my life.

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Worst and best hunt of my life.

Old 12-19-2004, 02:43 PM

Default Worst and best hunt of my life.

I am now 19 years old and I have been hunting for 5 years. I usually hunt up in the U.P. of Michigan and I have never gotten a deer. Yesterday I hunted in Indiana for muzzeloader season for the first time. I got to my stand at 2:00, I sat there for an hour when finally I see my first deer of the season. It's a doe but I was planning on shooting anything with any size. I pull of my glove and take off the safety, pull up the gun, I put the bead on the deer and pull the trigger. What do I hear? Click! The damn gun didn't shoot, needless to say the deer ran away. At this point I am so pissed almost to the point of tears. This is the first deer I have ever had a chance to shoot at! I end up sitting for another hour when I see two small deer poke out. I sit and watch these deer for about five minutes when finally their mother steps out of the woods. I pull up the gun to shoot again. This time when I pull the trigger I hear a pop! But its not very loud, I sit there for a minute trying to figure out what happened? Well the cap went off but the gun never fired! I was so pissed I stood up and screamed. Well you might be thinking, how is this my best hunt ever? Well I finally got to test my nerves and they passed.
Has this ever happened to anyone else? I'm sure it has but I would like to hear some stories to help ease my pain.
Old 12-19-2004, 03:25 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Worst and best hunt of my life.