Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 What' s Wrong Here? Do you Know? >

What' s Wrong Here? Do you Know?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What' s Wrong Here? Do you Know?

Old 11-05-2003, 10:34 PM

Default What' s Wrong Here? Do you Know?

I am no pro hunter but have spent some years in the woods. Saturday is opening day for muzzle-loader and the wind is going in the only wrong direction for all of my good morning stands. I' ve hunted this farm and this farm only for four years straight and have covered just about every spot at least five or six times. I know where the deer are (beding, food, travel, ect.). I have several lock on stands out and own a climber for the mobile stuff. I am a scent-control freek, I mean Freek(washed clothes are carried to the feild in scent control bags inside of a rubbermaid trash can and I dress 50yrsd. from the truck. I shower, wear rubber knee high boots, hunt high, the whole nine yards. Here is the hard part, I am going to hold out for a trophy buck this year. Always took what was presented before (but not this year). Have killed a couple nice bucks but no wall-hangers. The stands I want to hunt are great stands but because of the access to and from them (ie. property lines/road access) I don' t want to hunt them unless the wind is right, I feel like if I hunt them when the wind is wrong I will notify deer of my position and it would be pointless to hunt with the wind wrong (this just seem ten time as important now that I' m hunting stricky for mature bucks). Am I to weary about the wind/scent-control. or is this good trophy hunting philosiphy? Tell me what you think! Thanks in advance and good hunting.
Old 11-06-2003, 01:27 AM

Default RE: HUGE BUCK!!!!!WIND WRONG OPENING DAY