Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Deer vs. Bird Hunting?

Old 09-12-2015, 05:28 AM
Spike

Smile Deer vs. Bird Hunting?

Hi,

I have wanted to start hunting for quite some time now and finally I will be moving somewhere where it's actually possible (Scotland).

So after reading a bunch about it it seems that there are 2 popular things to hunt here:

1. Deer
2. Birds

My gut says it's more fun to hunt deer, as it's more of a "real animal". But bird hunting might be better to start with?

I am a beginner. Have never hunted nor do I know anyone who has ever hunted.

Which kind of hunting would you start with, and what kind of rifle should I buy?

I know that with a Shotgun, I could potentially hunt both deer and birds. With a rifle, I can only hunt deer.

Any tips welcomed.
Old 09-12-2015, 05:52 AM
MZS
Typical Buck

There is a big difference between how you hunt birds vs deer. For birds, you typically walk and flush the bird out, shooting them on the fly (or on the ground if you do not care about sport). A dog is helpful to help flush them out.

For deer, if you flush them out, generally it is a deer you have no hope of getting a decent shot.

For the beginner, bird hunting might be a better choice. You will get a lot of action right away, even if you do not come home with game. And as you bird hunt, you will encounter many deer, so you get a better grasp of where they bed down during day hours. Also, as you bird hunt, you can take note of deer trails. So your bird hunting this year can also serve as deer scouting for next year.