Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Looking to begin hunting - need a rifle recommendation >

Looking to begin hunting - need a rifle recommendation

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Looking to begin hunting - need a rifle recommendation

Old 12-27-2012, 01:16 PM
Spike

Default Looking to begin hunting - need a rifle recommendation

Hello All:

I am looking to get into hunting next season and I am in the market for a good rifle to purchase. Most of my experience is in short range quick reactionary competitions which is usually pistol and assault rifles.

Since I'm new to this side of rifles, I wanted to come to the experts for advise. Here is some information on what I am looking for (but I am willing to adapt to recommendations) and my experiences:

The things I'd like in a rifle is: magazine loaded, bolt action, light weight, good recoil control, and picatinny rail system for inter-changeable scope mounting (if available).

Since my experiences are typically in the semi-automatic weapons I know I might be off on what is ideal for hunting, so I am open to feedback. For example I'm use to wanting a lighter weapon because the semi-automatic function eats a lot of the kick (if built right) to allow controlled firing, so less weight is ideal. But in a bolt-action I heard it's actually better to have a some weight to manage control during firing.

I am looking to get into deer hunting for sure, but the potential to go to bigger game could grow if I really get into the sport (I live in PA). So I am thinking .308 is a good caliber since it gives me power to grow into, but not over-kill for deer. Obviously a good scope recommendation is also welcomed.