Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Rifled slugs in the smooth bore? >

Rifled slugs in the smooth bore?

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Rifled slugs in the smooth bore?

Old 08-09-2008, 08:19 PM

Default Rifled slugs in the smooth bore?

I bought an 870 combo it comes with both the rifled barrel has twists in it and a smooth bore barrel for turkeys and small game. I am new in the world of shotguns.

My question is I bought some Remington slugger rifled slugs thinking that I should use them for my rifled barrel with twists in it. However, when I read the box on the slugs it tells me NOT to use them in a demascus or rifle twisted barrel.

Should I keep these and just use and use them in the smooth bore barrel that was desinged for small game?

I really do NOT want to have to spend $12 for a box of 5 rounds compared to the $4 that I paid for these.

Old 08-09-2008, 08:33 PM

Default RE: Rifled slugs in the smooth bore?

Guy at work has an 1100 with a rifled slug barrel. He shoots the cheap rifled slugs out of it and he says the accuracy is acceptable. He might only run 10 roundsthrough the 1100 tops a season. Healso cleans the barrel real well at the end of the season.

Bugs.
Old 08-09-2008, 08:45 PM

That won't wreck the rifled barrel? The warning on the box was very animate about it?????
Old 08-09-2008, 09:58 PM
Fork Horn

DON'T USE RIFLED SLUGS IN A RIFLED BARREL,USE SABOTED SLUGS

USE THE RIFLED SLUGS IN A SMOOTHBORE, CAN BE USED WITH A MODIFIEDCHOKE OR IMPROVED CYLINDER CHOKE. NOT A GOOD IDEA TO USE FULL CHOKE AS SOME ARE TOO TIGHT.

ALSO DON'T USE THE SABOTS IN A SMOOTHBORE, UNLESS YOUR USING A RIFLED CHOKE TUBE

slug technology has come a long way but all barrels shoot differently